Dr. Katie Boockmeier, DVM

What is your educational and work background?

I completed my undergraduate studies in Biology at the University of Wisconsin Green Bay. I then went on to UW Madison for veterinary school and graduated in 2019. After graduation, I worked for another small animal clinic in southeast WI for about 2 years prior to joining Crawford. I also work as an in-home pet euthanasia veterinarian.

What made you decide to become a vet?

My mom has been a certified veterinary technician for over 25 years. Her passion and love of her career inspired me at a young age to work in the veterinary field–I have never wanted to do anything else.

Why did you decide to join the Companion team?

I love the positive culture here. It makes it an easy and fun environment to work in. The staff here truly cares about one another and every single patient that comes through the doors.

What is the best thing about being a vet? 

I enjoy establishing long term and positive relationships with both clients and their pets. I love making that connection and knowing the client trusts me to provide the best care for their beloved furry family members.

What is one of the most common problems you’ve encountered in pets you treat?

Dental disease–a majority of cats and dogs present with some form or level of dental disease. It is a common talking point I have with owners during annual wellness visits. Client education on this topic is so important; a big goal of mine is to effectively explain to pet parents how we can provide a comprehensive oral health assessment and treatment for their pets and the major overall health benefits this has.

Do you have any special interests in vet medicine? 

Dermatology (especially allergy cases), dentistry and geriatric medicine

What is the most unusual pet you have helped treat?

I was able to assist with health checks of penguins and giraffes at a zoo I volunteered with prior to veterinary school

What are some of your favorite activities outside of work?

I love being active–walking my dog and working out. I also enjoy reading and listening to podcasts

What is your biggest pet peeve?

Slow walkers

Favorite place to eat?  

I help keep Jimmy Johns in business

Favorite place to visit?

Lambeau field for a Packer game–the colder the better!

Favorite food?

Mac n’ cheese–I could eat it every single day and never get sick of it

Favorite movie?

I am notoriously known to fall asleep about 20-30 minutes into any movie (ask my husband), but if I can stay awake, I love thriller/suspenseful movies

What are your favorite sports teams?

The Green Bay Packers

Name 3 things people might be surprised to learn about you:

  1. I am a former blackbelt in TaeKwonDo
  2. I am allergic to cats, but I still love working with them
  3. I traveled to Nicaragua for a volunteer trip to provide veterinary care (health checks, spays and neuters) for cats and dogs. On one of my days off, I  got to spend the day exploring and swimming at Apoyo Lagoon, a nature reserve that is contained inside the crater of the Apoyo Volcano. It was so cool!

What's Next

  • 1

    Call us or schedule an appointment online!

  • 2

    Meet with a doctor for an initial exam.

  • 3

    Put a plan together for your pet.